Loving Learning Stuff – blogs

Synopsis: The Fortune Seekers – Dan and Charlotte                                                Genre: Speculative Historical Fiction

  The Fortune Seekers – Dan and Charlotte,  

by Australian/New Zealand Author – Glennis Browne


Author Glennis Browne’s riveting plot and well-drawn characters, delves into issues facing the population of Great Britain in the mid 1800’s.

Browne asks: 

Is it true we cannot avoid suffering, but we can choose how to cope with it? 

Will finding meaning in suffering, move us forward with renewed purpose? 

Does love bring peace?  

Does understanding forgiveness renew faith in God?  

These huge questions are explored in the context of two families Browne introduces to explore real incidents of grief and poverty. Situations affecting thousands of immigrants moving to Australia during the Australian gold-rush years.

 Meet Dan – a deep thinker, who challenges Welsh Calvinist beliefs which gained converts throughout the 17th and 18th centuries. Branded a rebellious non-conformist, he is desperate to escape confusing doctrines to discover his identity. 

Charlotte – predicts shame and disgrace as her destiny; after indulging in a relationship fraught with complicated challenges. 

Separately they join the thousands of emigrants who became the early pioneers in Australia.  

The Fortune Seekers – Dan and Charlotte’ is a book portraying crisis, hope, adventure, and love. Repercussions from sexual experimentation, marital infidelity, religious bigotry and family estrangement are explored in this compelling tale of 18th century life. 

Browne explores in story form, whether life is about spiritual survival, by considering the theories of psychiatrist, Victor Frankl. 

Frankl argued:- our primary drive in life is not pleasure, as Freud maintained, but the discovery and pursuit of what we find personally meaningful.

What are the meaningful lives Dan and Charlotte are seeking? And is such a destiny achievable? Author, Glennis Browne, through her protagonists lives, examines possibilities in her debut novel, ‘The Fortune Seekers – Dan and Charlotte’. 

 The 21st century reader will discover their own ancestors’ experiences; perhaps providing answers as Browne chronicles possibilities.

First published by Xlibris Australia in September 2016.

 The revised edition will be published mid 2017

This book is the first of a series. 

Book Two of the series will be published by Xlibris in 2018

In book two of ‘The Fortune Seekers’, you will meet Dan and Charlotte again, along with other pioneer families making life changing decisions for different reasons. 

If you enjoyed The Fortune Seekers, please write a review at the website you purchased the book from. Readers depend on reviews when choosing a novel. Authors depend on reviews for promotion.

 Go to –



http://www.Barnes and Noble.com/GlennisBrowne 

If you would like to receive information about when the second release is released, please go to my blog at – 


Book Two of the series will be published by Xlibris in 2018


Thank you for visiting my site.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

A WordPress.com Website.

%d bloggers like this: